El Jolgorio Mezcal

Oaxaca
20 Bottles
"El Jolgorio", translating to "the revelry", is a mezcal brand deeply rooted in the small festivals of remote Oaxacan villages. Established in 2010 by the Cortés family, the brand represents… Read more

Reviews

5/5
February 7, 2024
Top tier

I’m convinced EJ can’t do wrong. This is one of the best espadins you can buy, trust me.

1 Review
5/5
January 18, 2024
Amazing!

It’s got this really rich, floral, earthy flavor with a spicy kick at the end. Haven’t had a good mezcal like this in a while. Tried it together with some friends and we all agreed that this one is an absolute winner.

42 Reviews
5/5
December 18, 2023
Very light and easy on the palate

I had this at a bar called The Beer Baron in Santa Rosa, California for $15. This is a high quality madrecuishe, checking all the boxes you look for from this maguey. Very very smooth and floral from beginning to end. I could drink this all day long if I could afford it.

42 Reviews
5/5
December 7, 2023
Incredible, if you can find it

This mezcal is ON ANOTHER LEVEL…but the chances are. you won’t find it in your local spirits store. I tried this one at a friend’s house and only got one copita. Incredible depth of flavor. Makes you question whether or not you can even go back to cheaper mezcal.

42 Reviews
5/5
November 16, 2023
Had this in the restaurant

Holy moly this hit the spot. Sure, my opinion might be slightly clouded by the awesome ambiance and food, but damn, that was a good tepeztate.

9 Reviews
5/5
August 19, 2023
One of my favorites

El Jolgorio’s products are some of the best I’ve tried, and this espadin is no different. Quite smooth for 47%, with notes of baked agave and citrus, and a bit of pepper. Not so much smoke so the real flavors can really shine.

35 Reviews
5/5
July 26, 2023
Definitely one of the better ones

Sugary, earthy, smell of agave. I really like El Jolgorio mezcals and their espadin is one of my favorite espadins for sipping. Not too much smoke and has a nice spice to it

35 Reviews
5/5
April 23, 2023
The herbal one

I’m a sucker for tepeztates for their herbal, grassy notes.. and this one hits all the right spots. The first time I tried this one at Mezcalogía in Oaxaca, I feel in love. When you smell and try it, it’s like biting into an herb garden.. and that’s exactly what I expect from a good tepeztate. Very smooths as well, I could drink this one all day long.

El Jolgorio Mezcal

"El Jolgorio", translating to "the revelry", is a mezcal brand deeply rooted in the small festivals of remote Oaxacan villages. Established in 2010 by the Cortés family, the brand represents a collective of sixteen families across ten different Oaxacan regions. Each bottle is hand-marked with batch-specific details, connecting the drinker to the family behind the expression. Notably, El Jolgorio introduced a limited edition Ancestral mezcal in 2017, featuring their first female Master Mezcalera, Justina Ruiz Perez. This Ancestral mezcal, distilled from 100% Agave Coyote, is part of their annual Edicion Especial releases, showcasing rare and highly sought-after agave. El Jolgorio is a celebration of tradition, community, and the art of mezcal.

Oaxaca